Welcome to the Hipcomix Forums

HOME

FREE AREA
- JOIN - MEMBERS - LINKS - CONTACT - TUTORIALS - FORUMS - UPDATES

WEBMA$TER$

View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 3:28 pm

How much postwork do the artists do for a finished render? 
Bully

Post How much postwork do the artists do for a finished render?
I am curious how much postwork the artists here do, beyond adding word balloons and effects such as motion blur?

Do you render in one pass, or do you do multiple renders of a scene fiding different elements in each scene until the entire scene is rendered out?

Do you look to correct any lighting issues or add any new lighting in post?

Thank you in advance,

rDogg

Mon Apr 02, 2007 10:15 am
HIPComix Artist

I'm an eternal newbie when it comes to postwork stuff, but if you can get acquainted with even just the basic postwork tools you can save yourself a lot of time from having to make a perfect raw render.

Like when I first started I'd spend all day trying to keep from having skin breaking through clothes and making body bends look natural. But with postwork, you can easily fix that stuff in minutes where in Poser it may take hours to morph and pose stuff just right.

If I have a highly populated scene I render it in layers mainly because it's faster to render in small segments than the whole scene in one pass. Poser can save in photoshop and TIFF format so you can render over an empty background then in photoshop (or paintshop) extract the rendered person by selecting the alpha channel.

Some artists here are really masters with postwork - I just wing it.

I probably spend the most time on getting the right lighting and fine tuning all the posing.

How do you do it?

Mon Apr 02, 2007 12:36 pm
HIPComix Artist

Sturk has a little screenshot of how he worked on a scene here:

http://free.hipcomix.com/gallery/album91

Please feel free to post any other such tips/tuts here as well.

Tue Apr 03, 2007 1:34 am
HIPComix Artist